Polar Bear Club: Clash Battle Guilt Pride

Playing a little fill-in-the-alphabet again tonight since I’m being indecisive. Instead of boring you all and going completely alphabetically, I’m just going to jump around the alphabet with some letters that I’ve neglected. Tonight the letter of choosing was “P” and really my “P” section may be more pathetic than the K’s from yesterday. We’re taking a stab at another band I’ve heard nothing from, Polar Bear Club. I realized I had their more recent release, so we’ll go with that. Clash Battle Guilt Pride it is!

Pawner coming in at the first of the album is an interesting intro to a band – at least to me. They sound like a couple of other alt-rock bands that I’ve listened to, but it’s enough to keep me listening to their smooth rock sounds.

Killin’ It is almost on the same wavelength of tempo, just kicked up half a notch. I was almost unsure if the song had changed or not initially. After some listening, I realize I like it – and I really like Jimmy Stadt’s vocals.

Screams in Caves is the first song that really reels me in even though Killin It may have baited me. I don’t think there’s anything about this song that I don’t like. The more I listen to this band, the more I get a a dash of Alkaline Trio influence. And that’s never a bad thing.

I’ll Never Leave New York is one of the best tracks on the album. It has that us-against-the-world feeling that makes my toes tap. The lyrics are gorgeous and the guitars might even be a bit better.

I have to hand it to this band – they have song titles on lock. Religion on the Radio is another great track with an equally great name. This track is a bit more up tempo that could potentially work with some head banging if you felt so inclined. It’s definitely one of the more “hard rock” songs on the album an even this shade works for the band.

The album wraps it up with 3-4 Tango – another more rock-centric track. I have to say – I’m really impressed with this album and this band. I both hate and love it when I find bands that I feel this way about because clearly I’ve had some knowledge of their existence but I’ve never taken the time to closer inspect them. I have one of their older albums that I have no idea how long I’ve had on my iTunes and I’m bummed this is my first listen. You’ll want to take a closer look at this band if you’re feeling bored with the majority of rock music that’s come out lately – especially if you like bands like Alkaline Trio.

Key Tracks:
I’ll Never Leave New York (track 7)
Screams in Caves (track 3)
Religion on the Radio (track 10)

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Polar Bear Club: Clash Battle Guilt Pride

  1. [...] (and love) from doing this blog. I’ve reviewed 4 out of the 6 bands that are on the tour (Polar Bear Club, Transit, A Loss for Words, and Into It. Over It.). I’ve been wishing I lived in a higher [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,876 other followers

